Holiday Gift Guide 2015 #2

Posted on Updated on

For the Legal Sourcery Holiday Gift Guide this year, instead of looking for some generic lists on the Internet, the library staff decided to get personal. In the next 3 weeks, we will share with you some of our favourite gift ideas. We hope it will help get your creative juices and your spirit of generosity flowing.

sudokuKelly L’s recommendations:

Christmas gifts are hard to choose, let alone recommend one to strangers… I mean, my idea of a good gift this year is a new vacuum cleaner, and that fact alone, I think,  makes me particularly unqualified to tell you what to buy for anyone else. However, I did come across this awesome website that I’d like to share: The Great Gift Company. It may be from Britain, but it has some fun ideas.

For example, I quite like their page of Hipster Gifts, with things like moustache wax and shoe shine kits. It reminds me of that skit on Portlandia called “Dream of the 1890s”. The Gifts for Her section is a little less impressive. I mean, with things like pineapple bookends and matching pineapple locket (?), I guess I’m just not their target audience. I like pineapple, don’t get me wrong, but I’m not sure it’s what I want to say with my home decor. They do have a Sudoku Cube, so if you are struggling with what to buy me, that would be it!

While I’m thinking about fun games, I should mention two I recently acquired. For those of you who are fans of The Oatmeal, the Exploding Kittens card game is for you. The whole point is to explodingkittenavoid pulling an exploding kitten from the deck before your opponents do, and you can do that through different strategies, like seeing the future, attacking your opponents or asking for favours. Diffuse your exploding kitten with things like belly rubs and laser pointers… It takes about 3 minutes to learn, 15 minutes to play, and I have to say, my niece (7) and nephew (11) LOVE it. Who gamewouldn’t love taking their friends sailing on a beard boat?

For my second choice, I have to say I love Pamplona. Yes, the Spanish city, but also the board game. It is the running of the bulls, complete with plastic bulls and oxen and running players who, when they are gored or trampled by the animals, are flipped over on the board to reveal their flattened bodies. With bravery points and beer cards that give you more energy to run faster, this board game is not for the faint of heart! It’s also not really great for young kids, but I think my 11-year old nephew will like PG-level brutality of it! The first time you play takes a little bit of reading, but once you’re all set up, it is pretty exciting to release the beasts and trample your cowardly opponents!  Olé!

In case you missed Jenneth’s recommendations last week…

Tell us what you think

