Here’s Looking at You Mom – Happy Mother’s Day (Throwback Thursday)

Posted on Updated on

By Melanie Hodges Neufeld

Source: Canadian Lawyer, May/June 1980, page 18
Source: Canadian Lawyer, May/June 1980, page 18

What do kids think when mom becomes a lawyer? Canadian Lawyer magazine tried to answer that question in its May-June 1980 issue in the article “Here’s Looking at You Mom” . Here ‘s what kids had to say about their lawyer moms 35 years ago. Do you think the views are any different today?

5 year old: “I feel good that my mother is a lawyer. She’s tired when she comes home because she’s worked hard all the day”

9 year old: “ Mommie’s a lawyer, and she kind of talks to the judge and tries to confuse the judge to make her team a winner. She has to write letters to other people, and gets calls from clients to see if my Mum can help them. Sometimes she talks to daddy and plays with the phones. Mommie works hard to get put into the paper.

12 year old: “ Sometimes when I wonder why she’s not home, I think about what she’s doing – if she’s in court or in her office. I think it’s a harder job than most things because you have to do a lot of paper work and you have to know what you’re doing. And I guess it’s hard to listen to people’s problems but I don’t so I don’t know.”

11 year old: “Most kids at school know my mother is a lawyer. My father is a lawyer too. I think it’s not much different, having a mother for a lawyer than having a mother for other things.”

Tell us what you think

