Day: May 13, 2014

Free CPD!

Posted on

The Law Society Library is presenting a free one hour webinar on Tuesday, June 10 at noon:

Navigating the Members’ Section: The Resources Available to Law Society of Saskatchewan Members

Presenter: Melanie Hodges Neufeld, Director of Legal Resources, Law Society of Saskatchewan

This is a one (1.0) hour webinar being held Tuesday, June 10, 2014 from 12:00 noon to 1:00 p.m. (Saskatchewan time).

This webinar will highlight online resources that are available to Law Society of Saskatchewan members in the Members’ Section of the Law Society website. Resources include in-house publications such as the Queen’s Bench Practice Manual, the Saskatchewan Practice Checklists, and subscriptions such as O’Brien’s Online Forms and Criminal Spectrum. Through the use of legal research scenarios, participants will learn which resources are most useful in a given situation and/or area of law, and how to most effectively use each resource.

This webinar will be presented by Melanie Hodges Neufeld, Director of Legal Resources at the Law Society of Saskatchewan. Melanie is responsible for administration of the traditional library, as well as developing and recommending a strategic plan for the management of legal information within the Law Society and the province. Melanie is a lawyer with a background in administrative law and policy development. She also recently completed her Master of Laws from the University of Saskatchewan in the area of restorative Justice.

This webinar qualifies for one (1.0) CPD hour under the Law Society’s CPD Policy.

We are pleased to offer this webinar free of charge for all Law Society of Saskatchewan members. Online registration and more details are available here. Once you have completed the online registration form your registration will be complete.

Organizing research using tables of contents

Posted on

keyboardFeature Blogger: Reché McKeague

In this post, I will explain how I use the Table of Contents feature in Word 2010 to organize and manage my research. Although my knowledge is specific to Word on a PC, I expect that the same principles can be applied in any word processing program on any platform that provides automated tables of contents.

When researching a topic, I may have an already-established outline for my research product (paper, memo, brief, thesis, etc.) or I may be developing the outline as I discover areas of interest through my research. If I start with an outline, before beginning my research I will create a Word document. I then follow these steps:    Read the rest of this entry »